APNU+AFC confirms team for Washington visit with Congressman Jeffries

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) in a press release, September 22, 2023, said a ten-member delegation inclusive of the Leader of the Opposition Aubrey C. Norton will be attending a meeting with the highest-ranking Democrat in the United States of America, Minority Leader Hakeem Jeffries and his team.

The release confirmed that the team of ten Members of Parliament (MPs) from Guyana’s Parliamentary Opposition is made up of six persons from APNU, three persons from the Alliance for Change (AFC), and one person from Guyana Action Party (GAP).

The APNU said the meeting with House Speaker Jeffries and his team is expected to focus on the opportunities and challenges confronting Guyana and on how political stakeholders in the country can work together to ensure that all Guyanese citizens, regardless of race or ethnicity, benefit from Guyana’s oil wealth.

The Party said the team of elected representatives will be headed by Leader of the Opposition Aubrey C. Norton and includes Ms. Dawn Hastings, MP, PNCR General Secretary, Mr. Ganesh Mahipaul, MP, Shadow Local Government Minister, and PNCR Executive
Committee Member, Mr. Roysdale Forde, MP, Shadow Attorney General and PNCR Executive Committee Member, Ms. Amanza Walton-Desir, MP, Shadow Minister of Foreign Affairs and PNCR Executive Committee Member, Ms. Nima Flue Bess, MP, PNCR member, Ms. Catherine Hughes, MP, Chairman of the Alliance for Change (AFC) Party, Mr. David Patterson, MP, Shadow Minister of Public Works and AFC Vice-Chairman Mr. Deonarine Ramsaroop, MP, Mr. Vincent Henry, MP, Leader of Guyana Action Party (GAP).