UN General Assembly passes resolution against Russian invasion 

– Countries representing over 50% of world population did not vote

The UN General Assembly has overwhelmingly passed a resolution condemning Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. The resolution passed with 141 votes in favour and 5 votes against; with 35 nations abstaining. 12 UN member nations did not attend the emergency session.

However, it is very important to note that those nations which have decided to abstain represent over 50% of the world population with 8 of the world’s 20 most populated countries refusing to support the resolution. These include global military and economic heavyweights like China, India and Iran. Major regional leaders such as Ethiopia and South Africa also did not vote in favor of the motion.

Of the nine (9) nuclear armed nations only three (3), France, UK and USA, have supported the resolution. None of the nuclear armed countries of Asia supported the resolution.

More, In The Ring.